Communities of Schools to help lift student achievement

Wednesday, April 22, 2015

Rotorua MP Todd McClay has said that a newly announced initiative will further improve the standard of education for Rotorua students. Three new communities of schools are to be formed in Rotorua, which will benefit over 8,000 Rotorua students at 18 local schools. The new communities being formed are Rotorua East Community of Schools, Rotorua Catholic Faith Based Community of Schools, and Rotorua Central Community of Schools.

These schools add to the 11 Communities of Schools already announced as part of the Government’s $359 million investing in Educational Success initiative. The initiative aims to lift achievement in Kiwi schools by helping schools share teaching and leadership expertise.

“This announcement is good news for Rotorua students who will soon benefit from shared teaching practices and expertise, with teachers working collaboratively on goals to help improve educational outcomes in the classroom” says Mr McClay.

“Evidence shows us that quality of education and school leadership are the two most important factors in a child’s education. This is all about improving educational outcomes for kids in Rotorua which is why we are further supporting these two key areas.

“We want to see greater collaboration among schools, improved transition through the education system for children, and better career pathways for early childhood and primary teachers.

“The Government is focussed on improving education and achievement in our schools so all kids have their very best shot at succeeding and going on to lead successful lives,” says Mr McClay.

Almost 60 per cent of the schools in this tranche are decile 1 – 5 schools. A third tranche of Communities of Schools is expected to be announced later this year.